Diabetes and Food

This week I started a new eating regime, lifestyle change and here is why…

Earlier this year I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, also known as age related diabetes. It was a bit of a shock, and even more so when I was put straight on medication – Metformin 2 x 500mg twice daily.

At first I tried to be very strict and follow the diabetes nurse’s advice and ate my carbs with every meal as I had been told. However, I really couldn’t get my head around why I was being told to eat carbs when sugar is a carb and sugar is a big no no! I tried asking people – the diabetes nurse, the dietician, the diabetes education day and no-one had an answer for me. For me that just wasn’t logical.

I joined a diabetes forum and suddenly started seeing that lots of people were controlling their diabetes by something called a LCHF diet, even to the extent that some who had been on medication, no longer needed to be. Well, I found out that LCHF meant Low Carb, High Fat and almost rejected it out of hand. The words ‘high fat’ are very scary! But the Low Carb part fitted in with my own thoughts on the subject. What to do?

Someone on the diabetes forum had recommended the book “Why we get fat and what to do about it” by Gary Taubes a nutritional journalist so I bought the book and read it cover to cover. It made a lot of sense and had plenty of scientific studies to back up what he was saying. I then did a bit more searching around on the internet and found that the LCHF diet is also called the Swedish Diet and I found a doctor in Sweden who is trying to spread the word about this way of eating. His name is Andreas Eenfeldt, MD.  And he has a website at www.dietdoctor.com and can also be found on Facebook 

I also discovered a talk he gave a couple of years ago at the Ancestral Health Symposium that I feel should be recommended.

Anyway, I will write more about this later but suffice to say that I started eating the LCHF way on 3rd October 2012 and I want this to be my blog of how I get on.

To date, as at 8am on Sunday 7th October 2012 (four days in) I have lost 5lbs, a lovely side effect but this is mainly about the diabetes and if some of the weight goes too I wont complain!

2 thoughts on “Diabetes and Food

  1. I was also diagnosed type 2 earlier this year, and also just recently started a blog to track my journey. Best of luck to you and looking forward to your success!

Leave a Reply

