Two Months In

For two months I have been living a LCHF (Low Carb High Fat) lifestyle and wanted to catch you up with how I am doing.

Firstly, I am doing this because I do not want the complications that come with uncontrolled blood glucose levels, so my main aim is to keep my blood glucose within “normal” levels or at least as close to normal as I can get with type 2 diabetes. Now, I don’t actually know how I am doing on that front as at present I am trying to  “eat to my meter” when I don’t own one! However, I am due to have a blood test with my diabetes nurse in the next month or so and that will give me an idea of how I have been doing.

My weight is still heading downwards at a crawl. I have lost 10 lbs in two months but I think I probably over indulge in double cream – I do get through rather a lot of it. Having said that, I am finding it quite easy to stay off the carbs. Yes, I do get some days when I could be tempted but I try to have a high fat snack to ward off the temptation and I have been doing pretty well.

I have been doing lots of reading. The first book I read was by Gary Taubes, ‘Why We Get Fat’. Gary also has a website here which I just discovered but which I am sure will have lots of interesting material. Since then I have read The Diabetes Diet by Richard K Bernstein MD a type 1 diabetic himself and have started using some of the recipes in his book. He has another book ‘Diabetes Solution’ which is on my reading list. Another book I am about 75% of the way through is Living Low Carb by Jonny Bowden, an interesting tome but I was put off by the amount of supplements he recommends. I have never been a huge fan of supplements. And finally I have a couple of books by Jenny Ruhl. I have started ‘The Truth bout Low Carb Diets’, and still have ‘What They Don’t Tell You About Diabetes’ on my reading list.

One thing I am really falling down on is exercise! I have never been overly fond of doing any and this awful weather we have been having has not made me want to get out there and do some.

Christmas is just around the corner and that will be a challenge for me as I have my family coming over for Christmas day so will be cooking  dinner. I will need to get some ideas on what to cook. I know one thing, it wont be turkey!

Leave a Reply

