Results Day!

Saw my diabetes nurse today to get the results from my blood test, and also as I hadn’t written down my previous results I also asked for those while I was at it so I could do a comparison.

Bearing in mind that I have been following a LCHF diet for just 3 months:

  • My HbA1c, which measures how your blood glucose control has been over the past three months, was 41 (5.9 in old money), down from 58 three months ago and 103 at diagnosis. To give you an idea of what that means, what is considered a good result for a diabetic is between 48 and 58, and for a non-diabetic person is 37 and below.
  • Weight down by 7.6kg
  • BMI down by 3.1
  • Blood pressure down from 120/80 to 112/70
  • Total Cholesterol up by 0.1, but
  • HDL up by 0.4, and
  • My Cholesterol to HDL ration was 3.9 (4.5 and under is considered good)

I am so chuffed.

Although everything screamed that I was doing the right thing, 30 years of being taught to base our meals on carbs and eat low-fat was a lot of conditioning to overcome, and there was always a little corner of my mind asking “What if you are wrong?”.

My diabetes nurse said I have excellent control of my diabetes and asked me what I was eating. I told her I had seriously cut back on my carbs.

She replied “OK, are you eating veg?”

I said “Yes, lots of green veg”

To which she replied “Wonderful.. keep doing what you are doing.”

To finish, I have borrowed this:

 

2 thoughts on “Results Day!

  1. Well done Lesley Anne. I followed a LCHF diet for about 9 months before I fell of the wagon. This was about 2 years ago and although I no longer eat bread (it’s like a sedative!) I’m in no way low carbing at the moment.

    Thanks to blogs like yours I am now inspired to start again and re-take control of my blood glucose. Keep up the good work! And we’ll done again.
    Trish

    • Thanks so much Trish, it’s so nice to know that my blog can inspire others.

      I just feel so over the moon about the results I had, and all the more determined to keep heading in the right direction.

      Good luck with your own journey, and please do drop by and let me know how you get on.

      Lesley

Leave a Reply

